Video Teacher Yang Play

About Me

Hi, I’m Sonia from Kaohsiung, Taiwan. I teach Chinese and edit language learning materials. I have more than 11 years of teaching experience with students of all ages. I love telling stories about Chinese characters, especially the traditional ones. They are so beautiful and rich in culture. Do you want to learn more about them? I studied Chinese literature at university, and I have experience as a journalist and an academic administrator.

 

I enjoy travelling, reading, hiking, singing hymns and living a joyful church life. God has blessed me and my family with faith. I like to teach, learn, make friends, and have fun. I’m also learning Norwegian and Korean pop dance.

 

I have two daughters, 17 and 15. They are good at Wing Chun, K-pop and hip-hop. They would love to share their music and dance with you. Welcome to my home!

Read moreShow less

Qualification

Work experience 

  • Secondary school Chinese teacher in Kaohsiung
  • Editor of Chinese language learning materials
  • English teacher at primary and secondary schools in Kaohsiung

Education 

  • BA in Chinese Language and Literature at Tunghai University Taiwan
  • PEARSON EDI Certificate of Teaching Chinese as a Foreign Language
  • TCSOL Certificate of Teaching Chinese as a Foreign Language

Accommodation

Private 1 single room1 guest. 1 bedroom. 1 sofa bed. private bathroom

Description

I live in a cosy house with three rooms and a spacious living room. The living room is bright and airy, and it serves multiple purposes. It is where I work, teach, and dine with my family. The other rooms include our bedroom, a study room, and a utility room. The study room has a sofa bed that can accommodate visitors. We also have a walk-in closet and a utility room for storage. The house is equipped with an air conditioner and a purifier to ensure our comfort during the hot season.

 

My kitchen is compact but functional. It has everything we need to prepare tasty dishes. There are two bathrooms in the house, one adjacent to the bedroom and one next to the living room. Both bathrooms have showers but no bathtubs. We also have a small balcony where we keep the washing machine.

Read moreShow less

Amenities

  • Living room
  • Kitchen
  • Study area
  • Balcony
  • Lift
  • Private entrance
  • Wifi
  • Study desk/workspace
  • TV
  • Iron
  • Wardrobe/drawers
  • Air conditioning
  • Hot water
  • Cooking basics (pots, pans)
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Washing machine
  • Towels
  • Toilet paper
  • Soap
  • Shampoo
  • Hair dryer
  • Bed sheets
  • Pillow
  • Hangers
Show all amenitiesShow less

Teacher Household

  • Lives with daughters (12-15 years, 16-18 years)
  • Non-smoker 
  • No pets

Location

Neighbourhood and public transportation

I live in a large and lively community that has many amenities and attractions. There are 5 basketball courts, 1 baseball field, and a table tennis room for sports and recreation. There are also schools, 3 convenience stores, 2 small and medium-sized supermarkets, and a post office nearby.

 

The location of the community is ideal for shopping and transportation. There is a Ubike station next to the community, and 7 bus routes that stop nearby. The MRT (rapid train) and LRT (light rail) stations are only 200 meters away, which can take you anywhere in Kaohsiung City. The Carrefour Mall and IKEA are only 10 minutes away by foot.

    We’ll contact you shortly to discuss your preference